KENDRICK LAMAR – DAMN

Going into this monumental release, I had the lowest of expectations which was probably a good way to set it up. Kendrick’s last album, “To Pimp A Butterfly” was straight trash. Yeah, I said it. So I thought this new album would be more of the same. But I gotta say that it wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. I definitely wouldn’t say it was great or classic but I think that it definitely deserves its place in rap right now. The beats on this album are pretty good overall. There are definitely some of the songs that are bangers. “Loyalty” with Rihanna is a good song and might even end up being a single. “Pride” is another decent song with a banging beat. I’d say the standout track for me is probably “Duckworth.” The beats on that song and the story told are what really standout on the whole project. Overall lyrically, Kendrick is a weirdo. Yeah, I said that too. I don’t know if maybe I just don’t get it, but he is not painting the picture as clear as it is needed. Some of you weed and dust heads out there might easily get it, but I sure don’t. I know the dude is capable of spitting, but it is like he chooses not to and chooses to be weird instead. Oh well. At the end of the day, he definitely pleasantly surprised me with this one.

OVERALL RATING: 3.5 out of 5 Cheesesteaks

#kendricklamar #damn #topdawgentertainment #tde

Kendrick Lamar - Damn

Leave a Reply

