A TRIBE CALLED QUEST – WE GOT IT FROM HERE…THANK YOU 4 YOUR SERVICE

I gotta preface this review with the fact that I know exactly where A Tribe Called Quest fits into hip hop history. I have been around this thing of ours long enough and I know what level they are on and I respect them for that. That being said, I have never been a fan of theirs. People told me this album was slamming so I decided to give it a listen because otherwise, I never would have. And to be honest, I should have listened to my gut instinct and not listened. I am not impressed at all with this project. I never liked Q-Tip’s voice and his lyrics I don’t think are anything impressive. It pretty much just sounds like a bunch of hippy dippy flower raps to me. Kumbaya, we all sit around the camp fire and chant stuff. I also felt like they tried to capitalize off of all the social justice issues by including some of that stuff in the lyrical content. It almost seemed like they were thinking, hey if we say this, we will be more relevant today. The beats were possibly a little more interesting. While I might not have enjoyed them that much, I could see that they were trying to go in an interesting direction with them. The song I probably enjoyed the most was “Solid Wall Of Sound.” That beat was pretty slamming. So all in all, I would do a hard pass on this record. Their time has come and gone and it doesn’t sound like they are coming back. Tribe, please DON’T have it from here, the rest of us will all take it from here. Thanks for YOUR service. Goodbye.

OVERALL RATING: 1 out of 5 Cheesesteaks

#atribecalledquest #atcq #atcq2016 #qtip #q-tip #qtiptheabstract #phifedawg #phife #thakyou4yourservice #phifethefivefooter #tribecalledquest #fivefootassassin #pfifedawg #hiphoplegend #hiphoppioneer #rip #ripphife #bugginout #thefivefooter #trinidadian #rapper #hiphop #quest #fivefooter #fivefootfreak #funkydiabetic #freestylefanatic

a-tribe-called-quest-we-got-it-from-here

Leave a Reply

