JIM JONES – THE KITCHEN

Jim Jones has been putting out some crap for the last few years. I’m talking some real piles of feces. So when I saw that this project was coming out, I fully expected more of the same. He sort of fell apart ever since the Diplomats disbanded. Upon listening to this album, it actually wasn’t as bad as I thought it would have been. It’s not a great album but I feel like he may have done an about face and started coming back to some better work. It does seem like he stepped up his lyrical ability on this one. Instead of boring us to death with stupid adlibs about Vamp Life and how his cars sound, he seems to make a good attempt at describing the Harlem drug-trading life a little bit better. While the rhymes seem to have a little bit of life breathed into them, the beats fall flat. There is nothing on here that really sticks with me after I listen to it. Nothing “rewind-worthy.” I wouldn’t call this project a failure but it is definitely not a win either. I still await the Jim Jones of days past when Diplomats were on the rise. I know he’s got it in him.

OVERALL RATING: 2 out of 5 Cheesesteaks

#jimjones #jimjonescapo #capo #thekitchen #diplomats #dipset #eastside

jim-jones-kitchen

Leave a Reply

