APATHY – HANDSHAKES WITH SNAKES

It absolutely hurts my heart to do this review. Apathy is an amazing artist and he is what is needed today in rap music. The dude is a master at making songs and making some of the dopest beats out there. The samples he uses are incredible and just has a knack for creating great and classic music. For the record, his last album “Weekend At The Cape” is a perfect album as far as I am concerned. It is flawless and plays straight through. The rhymes are perfect. The beats are perfect. The concepts are perfect. I was so hyped and seemed like I was holding my breath waiting for this latest album. Upon listening to it, I gotta say I was a little disappointed. Maybe it was because my expectations were way too high. It might have been all on me. The rhymes are awesome on this new album. I can’t say anything bad about that part of the album. You can’t mess with Apathy at all on the lyrical tip. He will destroy you. Now the beats, they are not bad at all, but I don’t think they were what I was expecting. I was looking for more of that boom bap sound or something to ride to. Maybe something for him to just lyrically destroy. But to be honest, the beats just didn’t stick with me. Wasn’t really feeling tracks like “Attention Deficit Disorder” or “Charlie Brown.” Now the clear high point of the album has to be “Pieces Of Eight.” Ap tells the ultimate pirate story over a slamming beat. This was what I was looking for and it was definitely delivered on this track. I’m all about Apathy and I’m an enormous fan, but this project is just simply not one of my more favorite Apathy albums. I guess you can’t win them all. I will now continue to wait like crazy for Perestroika though.

OVERALL RATING: 3.5 out of 5 Cheesesteaks

#apathy #apathydgz #handshakeswithsnakes #hws #armyofthepharoahs

Apathy_-_Handshakes_With_Snakes_Album_Cover

Leave a Reply

