MASTA ACE – THE FALLING SEASON

This album was such a let down. I’m definitely a fan of Masta Ace all the way back to Sittin On Chrome and even prior. I loved his solo albums. So when I heard that this album was coming, I had such high hopes for it. But sadly, this album falls very short of what it could have been. I feel like the album suffers a lot of setbacks. He definitely likes to set the stage with a story line for the albums. This one was just sort of whack to me. It was boring following the career of him going through high school. The songs had more of a jazzy feel to them when I was looking for those boom bap beats to nod my head to. His lyrics are good. I don’t think that Ace ever slacks in that department. It just makes it harder to listen to when you don’t enjoy the song too much. The hooks on a lot of the songs were another area of concern. I wasn’t feeling the singy-type hooks that he has all over this album. I’d say the only really stand-out song would be “High School Shit” with Torae. That one captures more of the essence I thought he was going to bring with this new project. I hope we get more Masta Ace projects because he definitely gave us an incredible let down with this one.

OVERALL RATING: 2 out of 5 Cheesesteaks

#mastaace #mastaaceincorporated #mastaaceinc #emc #thefallingseason #fallingseason #juicecrew #crooklyndodgers #brooklyn #borntoroll #sittinonchrome

Masta Ace

Leave a Reply

