R.I.P. PHIFE

I thought I would take a quick break from the reviews to address the passing of Phife from A Tribe Called Quest. First and foremost I would definitely like to express my condolences to his family, friends, and fans. A loss is always tough and I wish that much solace and comfort is found as possible to all of those close to him. It’s always sad to see a great artist go. That being said, I wanted to address my view on the group which he was a part of. This will probably be wildly unpopular. Bottom line is basically that I was not a fan. I definitely have heard a lot of music from Tribe and I must say that it just never resonated with me. To a lot of hip-hop fans I’m positively sure that this will come as blasphemy. In the great words of Common though, “If I don’t like it, I don’t like it, that don’t mean that I’m hatin.” I became a hardcore follower of hip-hop around 1992 right about when Dr. Dre’s “The Chronic” came out. So Tribe’s presence might have had a greater impact to those fans slightly a few years older than I. As a hip-hop fan, I definitely did go back in time and research all of the great acts that came before my time to see what they were all about. That is partly what is about-paying homage to the greats that come before you. Just like it is with today’s artists, it is the same with artists before my time. There are some that I like and some that I don’t care for. I can definitely say that I was not a fan of much of A Tribe Called Quest’s music. I do still recognize great contributors to the culture even though I may not be a fan of them. I would never say that they weren’t legends or great contributors. I just was simply not a fan of their music. I feel worse for the fans at this time because I know what it is like to really love an artist and when you lose that artist, it hurts. So with respect to the family, friends, and fans of Phife Dawg, may he rest in peace. He’s an artist that won’t be getting much play in my playlist, but may he get heavy rotation in your list if he is your man.

#qtip #phifethefivefooter #tribecalledquest #fivefootassassin #pfifedawg #phife #hiphoplegend #atribecalledquest #hiphoppioneer #rip #phifedawg #1 #atcq #ripphife #bugginout #thefivefooter #espn #trinidadian #rapper #hiphop #quest #fivefooter #americanrapper #bardiagram #latenight #fivefootfreak #funkydiabetic #freestylefanatic

Phife Dawg

Leave a Reply

